Confession and an apology (proof red in the face)


The wife spent a while scrolling through this blog yesterday and dug up a horrifying number of writing errors. Things that a spell check can’t catch. Some examples (from the Vil Uyana post):

The monster doesn’t seem to care about how lucky it its.

clutches of colourful saris from of those working in the resorts

Such things make my twitchy style of word vomiting even more annoying to read. Then there are those over used words that are stylistically annoying but are grammatically correct.

I’ve also stuffed up more than a few times on the proper spelling of names (as in the Pedlar’s Inn post). Thankfully there are readers who bother to point these things out. But I’m a rude host to keep bumbling on like this. If anyone takes the trouble to wade through my words I should be decent enough to make it easier.

So I’m sorry πŸ˜₯ for all those rough spots in all the previous posts.

Excuses excuses

The big one is that I don’t give a high priority to blogging. Posts are pecked out in the odd scraps of time between other tasks. Lately I’ve been jotting them down on my PDA. It’s a good way to get the words out of the head but obviously bad for proofing. Then there’s the scramble to put together these jottings into a post where not much actual “proof” reading gets done. Even when I do read my own blog, I’m too familiar with the words that I’ve pecked out to spot the mistakes.

It’s all about trying to get the blog thing done in a middle of everything else (I’m trying to do keep it 14-15 posts a month) and it quite apparent that the result is a mess.

So VTDN (Vhut Tu Du Nau)?

I think the solution is to set aside time for blog proofing.

That means that a post would have to have a cooling off period between being written and “published”. And/or published posts would have to be reread and proofed later. Given the task load that I got, this will create some interesting prioritisation dilemmas. I hope such dilemmas will NOT require a session of “what does blogging mean to me” navel gazing.

Another idea is to run the text through a grammar check in something like M$ Word.

I have tried my best to proof this post and patched up many the holes in the Vil Uyana post. Used M$ Word and it did catch a few nasty ones in this post. WordPress.com has a handy “Paste from Word” button that cleans out extraneous formatting junk.

I don’t expect the process to work right away. Just caught a few misplaced words just now (despite reading this more than 5 times) 😦 . The hope is to develop the foundation of a good habit. Which of course requires patience, persistence and mindfulness.

Despite all the proclamations of proof reading, there must be a few stragglers. If you spot any please do shout a comment. That should keep me on my paws.

Its time to click the publish button and get to work.

Thank you for tolerating.

7 thoughts on “Confession and an apology (proof red in the face)

  1. Most errors that are found on blogs, email, posts, comments, etc are usually typos that the writer doesnt bother to recheck and correct on account of time.

    In the new world of cyberspeak where abbs and icons are used for almost every single word or expression I think we can allow these mistakes to pass without much ado.

    Its the new way of communication, mate!

    The Queen will be dead, soon, for sure, just like the rest of us.

    Like

  2. True. Though some of my stumbles did garble what I was trying to say πŸ˜‰ And they weren’t abbreviations etc. But you got a point – I need to not be too uptight about these things.

    Like

  3. Why concentrate on puny things as spelling and grammar?

    The objective of a language is to convey your idea to the other person, not convey your proficiency of that certain language.

    Fluent readers never read word-to-word anyway. They just glance line to line; so as long as your poetic rhythm is in tune with the topic it really doesn’t matter.

    Like

  4. R: Good points which will hopefully save me from getting over the top nit picky πŸ™‚ Right now my main concern is stuffing up my ability to convey my ideas. Think that rushing through blog posts is making me clumsy with my words. Perhaps I should slow down the process, but having considered what you’ve pointed out, I don’t think I want to slow down too much πŸ˜‰

    Like

  5. This is probably not a good substitute for MS-Word type proofreading, but, I started using an unobtrusive (important to me) in line dictionary (firefox addin) which works rather nicely. Plus it is British/International English so it doesn’t have the minor irritations of default American spellings.

    Feedback regarding your typos, I find that they do not appear to interfere with the main gist of your post.

    Looks as though by marrying Mrs. Cerno, you got a good deal somewhere in there ….free proofreading from someone with a keen eye for typos πŸ™‚ Hi Mrs. C!

    Like

  6. Just read the above and spotted a punctuation error. Since it is about proofreading thought I better correct it πŸ™‚

    “Feedback regarding your typos, I find that they do not appear to interfere with the main gist of your post.”

    Should read as:

    “Feedback regarding your typos: I find that they do not appear to interfere with the main gist of your post.”

    Like

  7. i: He he πŸ™‚ I’ll pass on the greetings to the Mrs πŸ˜‰ I do have the FF inline dictionary. On the Mac side, the OS seems to apply the language settings set at OS level for any kind of text entry. Very handy πŸ˜‰ but not for the grammar stuff.

    Like

Say something

