One of the inevitable blog posts


An inhabitant of the Sri Lankan Blogosphere inevitably makes 3 types of posts. The most universal is an introspective thing about their blogging motivations. Then there’s the piece on “the situation” in the country that is sure to put a nice upward spike on the statgraph. Lastly some thing (usually a rant) about the traffic. Specifically in Colombo. There’ll be a trishaw in it somewhere.

This is number 1 on the above list. I’m pecking this out because I’ve developed what I called the “blog monkey mind”. Its one of the chattering voices in the head. Accept that it views and processes every bit of daily experience as potential blog post. Very involuntary, disconcertingly addictive and consequently pleasurable.

But of course I’m not a blog addict in denial (denial being the clear sign of addiction). Of the“Mock 10” Signs of Blog Addiction I confess to items 7 and 8:

7. You filter everything through your post-writing. You can’t watch a movie, see a play, read an article, or share a sweet moment with your child without thinking of whether it’s blog-worthy.

8. You “mental blog” while driving or on the train, and sometimes even when you are alone in the shower.

Item 7 is disturbingly accurate. The only exception in item 8’s “mental blogging” is the thing about the shower. That’s the one place I don’t mentally blog. Lately I’ve realise that mental blog while I’m running – when originally I used to just edit as I puffed through the Colombo humidity.

Looking back over the centuries that I’ve blogged (ok ok months for accuracy’s sake but grant me a few theatrical flourishes) part of the fun has been recording, observing, cross linking subject areas. Sort of like a digital piggy sniffing for yummy truffles. Inevitably this results in a dung pile of Google searches that unearth things like:

An added benefit is that the process of writing about esoteric stuff helps me keep my mouth shut. Specially at social occasions involving people with fragile sensibilities. There is also the trivial fact that I realise I like writing.

Ug this post is getting to be an annoyingly unoriginal grandstanding navel gazer. The kind of posts I’d rather not keep writing. But too late now.

2 thoughts on “One of the inevitable blog posts

Say something

