Authentic rock’n roll sound Sri Lanka style


“Daddy” is a Sri Lankan band that has created an authentic Sinhala language rock’n roll sound. They first brought out this sound with their 1970s themed music video also demonstrates that they have very high production values – both in terms of audio and video. Right down to the incorporation of animation and live action – with the old film look thrown in.

The lyrics are hilariously fun and sweetly innocent. Yet they are presented in a refreshingly humorous format. They even get the little details right – from the kerosene delivery bullock carts to piled high 70s women’s hair styles and BELL BOTTOMS. Some of those visuals remind me of old family photographs 🙂

The main strength of the whole video is that they do parody and cultural referencing without doing raw imitations.

“Daddy” keeps getting better.

They steamed on with their next solo “Pung” (sorry the translation is beyond my English ability). I heard their hilarious “SMS” song on YFM. Hilarious lyrics and digs at Rock’n Roll conventions. They even poked fun at their own songs. I was so hooked I didn’t even notice the check points along the way. In that sense I think their music has the sound of timeless exuberant joy (even in times of war).

The Cat Empire in Australia would be their English equivalent. Here’s a more utilitarian Cat Empire wikipedia link.

Mage Massina (“My brother-in-law”)

The title translates as “My brother-in-law”. Which is sort of funny because the guy whose pining for the girl is obviously not married to her yet 😉 So the “brother-in-law” (the muscular guy in the video) is actually his brother-in-law to be. A theme in the song is about how the guy hates Saturdays because that’s when the brother-in-law is around and prevents him from seeing his girl. On other days he gets to meet her all over the place.

Ok so I’ve ruined the whole effect with an attempt at “logic” which in no way captures the fun. But I thought I’d add it for any non Sinhala speaking readers.

Crap have to get to work now

10 thoughts on “Authentic rock’n roll sound Sri Lanka style

  1. Dili Not yet but I’ll dig around for it 🙂 Thank you for the reminder.

    Vindi Glad you liked it. Help spread the news of these guys around. Though they don’t sing there is an audience for funky non English rock. Specially when there’s the 70s theme 🙂

    Like

  2. I personally think they are better than the iraj clan…their songs are much more pleasant to listen and much more original and the best part being no stupid rap which has become so irritating these days!

    Like

  3. wyatt: I’m not knowledgeable enough to evaluate their musical skills. To use a cliché, I just know what i like 😉

    Give them a listen. Depending on your tastes they could be horrible, good or in-between 😉 If you got some music knowledge write up a review of it – I’d be happy if you add it to a comment on this post. Or if you do blog about elsewhere please let me know so I can link to it.

    Like

Say something

