Typewriter blog post


Written during a power outage on an Olivetti Lettera 22. Scanned for distribution of course. Its been ages since I used it and as you can see my typing skills are not what they seem to be. The machine is also a bit temperamental but I won’t blame it.

The whole exercise is a feebler attempt to “practice” a blogging tip I have blogged about. It was strikethru’s highly readable “typecast” post and the power outage that gave the final push.

Here it is. I’ve kept it mercifully short. There’s a (906 x 832) version of this image on flickr if the image below makes you squint.

Scan of typewritten blog post

If you want to make your typewritten blog post digitally accessible, there is free optical character recognition software out there. Google also seems to have some OCR software out. Haven’t tried any of them my self though.

At the one end of the analogue blogging spectrum is the hand-written blog done with a pen paper and digital cammera. Flipping all that around is Sumocat who has taken hand-written blogging to another level with a tablet PC.

23 thoughts on “Typewriter blog post

  1. *sigh* I always wanted a typewriter! There’s something so charmingly old fashioned about the slight misalignments and ink smudges. I compensate by using an old-typewriter font, whenever I can get away with it πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Good one! Brought back memories of the days when I was young, and was hanging out at my mother’s office. Think I was like 5 then. Used to drive her secretary bonkers with piano-playing on the typewriter!

    Like

  3. Vindi: Nothing beats the physicality of writing with a typewriter though. Hope you eventually do get around to using one.

    You should sniff around for a typewriter when you are in Colombo. In the first world there’s always some sort of yellow pages based business selling /repairing old typewriter. Good luck. Let me know if you dig up any typewriter shops in Colombo πŸ™‚

    Dili: R U into Steam-punk as well? Read Gibson’s difference engine a while back. Not easy to get readable books in that genre though.

    Dinidu de Alwis: I used the the exact thing when I was stuck in my father’s office πŸ˜€ I would pound out gibberish on the typewriters and mail out the results to people I know :mrgreen:

    Like

  4. Nice. I love the Letteras, are they all blue? Looks like you need to oil that thing πŸ˜‰

    It was funny, probably the first 10 or 15 pages I typed on the first typewriter I got a year or so ago when I started up this typecasting thing were *about* the physical act of typewriting. It just *felt* awkward and self-conscious, even though I had done it for years when I was very young.

    Very post-apocalypse of you to do this during a power outage. Like it!

    Like

  5. strikethru: Thank you πŸ™‚ specially for the tip about the oiling. I’ll have to figure out how to oil it but such maintenance skill will come in handy

    Yes my Lettera is a sort of a greyish baby blue. πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. My mother’s office had a fancy electronic typewriter where you type the sentence and when you hit return the entire line is printed. Pretty fun.. but wasn’t allowed to play the piano on it. Had an older one at home to server the purpose though.. Luck my πŸ™‚

    Nice post!

    Like

  7. chaarmax Do you still have the “home” typewriter? If so pound out a blog post. We can get the “Sri Lankan type casting” thing rolling πŸ˜‰

    Like

  8. Hey, thanks for the shout-out (just by chance I saw the backlink to my blog). Manually typed is certainly the opposite end of the spectrum from my digital handwriting. If you ever want to try adding hyperlinks to that, my Links in Ink builder, Build 52, works with any image.

    Like

  9. Sumocat My pleasure πŸ™‚ Not sure what you mean by
    If you ever want to try adding hyperlinks to that, my Links in Ink builder, Build 52, works with any image.

    Will email to clarify πŸ™‚

    Like

  10. Will have to find it machang.. Hopefully my cousin hasn’t taken it.. πŸ™‚

    I think Sumocat is talking abt a SW to help put hyperlinks to images.. ie type cast images..

    Like

  11. Chris: interesting biz your grand mother was into. I bet the remnants of the shop would be worth quite a lot these days.

    purplesocksismine: so your introduction to typing was musical πŸ™‚

    LdimediciAf: kottu.org is a website that posts excepts from hundreds of Sri Lankan blogs. Head on over and check it out.

    Like

  12. The IBM Selectric typewriter (occasionally known as the IBM Golfball typewriter) was a highly successful model line of electric typewriters. It was introduced in 1961
    Typewritersale.com

    Like

  13. Pretty cool post! I love the old manual typewriters too, and write all my letters (snail mail) on an old Olivetti Lettera. It still types very smooth and the recipients of my letters love the fact that it’s “almost” hand written! lol

    Like

Say something

