Reluctant fundamentalist in the bag at last!


I finally got my grubby paws on a copy of Mosin Hamind’s latest book, “Reluctant fundamentalist” – which I have blogged about too many times without reading. A used book bought for cash – “lent” to me by a visiting friend from over the sea. Another Singapore to Colombo read. I picked up the book instinctively when I saw the cover. Read through most of the first chapter standing. Until it was a politely suggested I take it home.

So now I’m in the delightful dilemma about trying to read it without crashing through it too fast. The first person narrative is skilful without becoming physically exhausting like Italo Calvino’s If on a winter’s night a traveler. The story doesn’t lazy about. Things are always galloping forward and you feel lucky to hang on to the saddle. It paints a very different world from that of Moth Smoke the author’s first masterpiece. Its a world that’s not as easy to understand. But intriguing none the less.

That’s about all I am going to say for now. As I read through the book trying not to finish it too fast. I case you haven’t realised by now, this isn’t a review ๐Ÿ™‚ But I am happy to get my paws on this book – enough to break my rhythm of not posting on a crazy Tuesday.

I have to keep this short as Mr. C is trying her hand at some hard core baking – involving a lot of eggs, flour and the oven. This post has already been interrupted many times by smoke and other kitchen dramas. Thankfully the fire brigade has not been hassled. Hopefully I get to have my cake and eat it too.

9 thoughts on “Reluctant fundamentalist in the bag at last!

  1. hey i got that recently also, and read it. didn’t know you had blogged about it — will go read your stuff on it. not wanting to spoil it for you, but i was kinda disappointed, especially because i loved moth smoke.

    Like

  2. Pradeep: Just finished reading it – and yes it certainly isn’t Mothsmoke. Which I think is quite a relief ๐Ÿ™‚ The ending is a bit of a puzzle. But I’m not a fan of everything explained/resolved type endings. Yes yes sounds like I’m trying to reason out the ending but I’m not ๐Ÿ™‚

    Angel: Hope you find it interesting ๐Ÿ™‚

    Vindi: ๐Ÿ˜ฎ What review? ๐Ÿ˜‰ Um does this mean I have to write one? ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I’m awful with reviews! ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

    Like

  3. yeah, dunno about the ending. i figured it was what was implied (don’t want to add a spoiler).

    but my basic problem was that the whole narrative was very thin, as was the main character– thiner than namesake, to which you can compare it (as a radical version of that liberal tale of quasi assimilation).

    Like

  4. Pradeep: ๐Ÿ™‚ yes the character’s name is a bit of a in your face metaphor ๐Ÿ™‚
    I agree with you point about the narrative as a whole. I wasn’t entirely sold on it. Specially the main character’s change about assimilation etc. Or his love interest’s psychological problem/whatever. I certainly didn’t get what happened to the main character after he returns to Pakistan. Have to admit that I was hoping for some kind of explanation by the end. Or a hint of one. Perhaps I should reread the book – though I doubt I’ll dig up anything. I’m certainly guilty of suspending my critical disbelief. Such is the folly of the fan boy perhaps ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

Say something

