2 years of blogging later (bloganiversity)


Two years since my first timid little post was pecked out. Never dreamt that I’ll still be blogging today. At that time the biggest quandary was what to write about. Yet the only consistently shocking thing of the last two years is the manic pace of ideas popping in the mind. Sometimes worse than an advanced mode of space invaders.
Anniversaries are Janus moments with a lot of squinting at the rapidly blurring past or staring into the blankness of the “future”. I prefer to look around at where I am after 376 posts. 2 years is not a long time in the blogosphere even if it feels that way. I had a few moments in the sun such as getting plagiarised by a major newspaper and winning an unexpected award.
I see two significant consequences of blogging for this long. One is that my sanity is miraculously intact due to blogging’s role as an outlet for a frivolously chattering mind — without ever being a chore. The second is encountering all the interesting voices in the Sri Lankan blogosphere.
With that in mind, I would like to acknowledge a sampling (by no means complete) of my “blogging elders”-those who have been at it far longer than I have — by taking a look at their first posts. Most of these people are the closest the Sri Lankan Blogosphere has to “institutions”.
The grand old dude of them all is Indi who has been at it since August 2003. That’s as far as the records go and long before he took up his janitorial kossa (broom in Sinhala). Vindicated, though young and lately seldom seen, start out in Jan 2005. That’s about the same time Lanka Libertarian started shaking things up from his first post in 2005. Lastly but not least of that year the Court Jester made his fist appearance in November of 2005. This list would not be complete without the drummer who started his awe inspiring beat inMarch of 2006 and keeps getting better. The list would go on and you would of course not want to be fed long lists.
Off course there are my contemporaries (the kottu.org “batch” of 07) & new voices (2008 onward) all of whom deserve another post. Till then, thank you for reading (now and for the last two years).

24 comments

  1. hey thanks for the mention, although to be frank, I never wrote much on my own blog until last year.

    I spent a lot of time commenting on other people’s blogs though.

    Like

  2. Happy Blogoversary Cerno and thank you for the mention. Your scribblings continue to amuse and inspire me, here’s to the next two years.

    Like

  3. I second TMS🙂

    Blogging’s great but I don’t know if I’ll be doing it two years from now. Remains to be seen. Kinda hope so though.

    Congratulations!

    Like

  4. Dee: Thank you🙂

    Jack: Quite happy to mention – in fact I think you have been blogging a lot – its just that your “posts:” were scattered about as comments in other people’s blogs. No hope of heading for the hills in the foreseeable future. Lucky I got time to peck out a post now and then.

    RD: Happy and honoured that you think so!😀

    themissingsandwich
    : Gracias🙂 Btw, what’s your bloganniversary? I think it got lost when your blog got hacked..

    kalusudda: Thank you🙂 Have heard about the new Google Earth but havn’t downloaded it yet. Want to check out its new underwater features.

    Gypsy: Thank you. My take is that its easier to take think of blogging as a day by day thing and not think of it in terms of the long term. I just let the ideas hit and vomit them out. If they don’t that’s ok as well. It shouldn’t be a chore. Specially if its not a professional blog.

    Niro: Thank you though the flow comes from somewhere mysterious and uncontroled.

    tash: Thank you🙂

    maf: Dicipline?? More like have a chattering mind that jumps around like an over caffinated chimp. I think you are luck😉

    Anandawardhana: Thank you. Just realised that you are in the 07 batch yourself! With a bloganiversary coming up.

    N: Thank you🙂 The way the my neuron percolate I don’t have much choice. Its either this or screaming in badly padded cell in Angoda😉

    Jerry: Thank you (on my behalf of the voices in my head as well)

    T: Thank you. Hope you stay warm in that NYC winter.

    gutterflower: Siyabonga! Quite a feat running 2 blogs.

    Like

  5. Congratz Cerno. Sorry im a tad late with the wishes, but they still come from the heart.😀

    You know, I can just see you old pros going all professor-like, doing a bloggerversity sorta thing someday… with all wrinkles, white hair, mustaches and spectacles on your blog templates 😀

    Like

  6. Anandawardhana:🙂

    Dili: Few things are ever “late” in the blogosphere🙂 Thank you for the wishes and dropping by! It will be a long time before I go professorial!

    Like

  7. Happy Blogoversary! It has been such a great read. And I’m working on the “seldom seen”- lots to say, so little time. Here’s to many years and more thought provoking posts🙂

    Like

  8. Cerno many congratulations mate… Btw I’m sure I have seen some where in a news agency’s news article (Probo Reuters or something which came upon google news…) quoted you as ” … Local blogger cerno said…..”. (I hope your awareof this..)
    because that’s how I got to know the exsistance ofthe” local blogsphere” if you could find the article(which I tried to find) , it very well deserves to go up on the highlights!
    Cheers to many more years to come…

    Like

  9. no no… it was one of those reuters “scenarios” thingy/things.. i very well remember it because thats when i read your blog mate.. my first step towards the local blogsphere hehe
    i tried tryping “cerno sri lanka” into google news but looks like the search engine listings arnt that deep.
    looks like its a painstaking job to find it…. ill keep looking man

    keep up the good work.. yer blog posts are mint!

    Like

Say something

