2 Sri Lankan blogs gone into hiding


Two long time Sri Lankan blogs have inexplicably gone into hiding. These are the blogs of the Lankanospere’s, Official Parasitologist and Official Anthropologist. You’d think there’s something more sinister than a cabinet reshuffle behind the scenes. There have been no press releases or announcements of any kind (that I know of) regarding these changes.

Visitors to these two blogs are confronted with log in screens demanding unknown user names and passwords.Its sort of like the fort railway station suddenly becoming an exclusive members only club. Which prompts somebody at some point (me) to ask: What is going on???

8 comments

  1. Unfortunately nothing scabdalous to share about the disappearence I’m afraid! I’m using some of my entries to create a personal archive for my anthropology and history class and somehow not too keen on my lecturer stumbling onto my blog🙂 I’d quite like to be judged for the cohrent sentences in my academic papers rather than the incoherent rants in my blog. Should be back online in a couple of week though!🙂

    Like

  2. Unfortunately nothing scabdalous to share about the disappearence I’m afraid! I’m using some of my entries to create a personal archive for my anthropology and history class and somehow not too keen on my lecturer stumbling onto my blog🙂 I’d quite like to be judged for the coherent sentences in my academic papers rather than the incoherent rants in my blog. Should be back online in a couple of week though!🙂

    Like

  3. Vindi: Glad to hear that🙂 but why not put your archive on a completely separate blog? You got some good “rants” like the post about your Elephant.

    Jack: The Spider? 😯

    Like

  4. The man needs things done on paper- so passé I know😉 I’m basically using excerpts to a complement a set of photographs on Sri Lankan memorabilia so that I can avoid actually putting down the url. Ever read Walter Benjamin’s archive? Similar premise🙂

    ps- apologies for the double comment earlier- internet being slow and weird no doubt!

    Like

  5. Vindi: Interesting🙂 Specially for the Walter Benjamin reference. Never hear of him before. But does that mean your blog is shut for good?

    Nothing to apologise😉 the net has its sluggish phases.

    Jack: never heard of that blog before. Guess I won’t😦 VTD

    Like

Say something

