Pearl of a read: good blog worth checking out


I avoid reading poetry unless forced to do so at gunpoint. Naturally there are a few acceptations. Bukowski, Du Fu, a few more, and assorted hiku (lets not get academic and call it poetry). A while back I’ve discovered a new addition to these acceptations in the blogosphere: Polka Dots & Pearls Green Tea Diaries. She (I’m assuming from the poems that the author a she) writes with a delightful mix of humour, delicacy, brevity, and punch.  I find her ability to keep the words constantly polished, sharper and always on the mark to be awe-inspiring. I’m sure Bukowski would have brought her a beer and Li Bai would shared his wine in acknowledgment (not that I can speak for imortals).

I would of course go on and on about this blog but what would be the point? The whole idea of a post like this is to get people to see for themselves. Not that I’m trying to chase away traffic but this blog is a bloody good read. Specially if you are always in a hurry. Like me.

12 comments

  1. wrap.box: Good to know that I’m not alone in thinking so🙂

    polkadotsnpearls: You are welcome🙂 and thank YOU for the wonderbah writing😀 Btw, any chance you’ll switch your blog theme back to something resembling your old theme? The pearls and the dots picture catches the mood very well..

    Like

  2. The thing that most impresses me about her writing is the sheer wit in every line. Also I have to agree with Cerno, the old theme was fantastic.

    Like

  3. T: Totally agree with you on that. It takes a lot of talent to put out that kind of sharpness on a regular basis. BTW, who is it that your blog is now locked up?

    slpmartin & Chavie: You are very welcome😀

    Like

  4. […] The poet is Shailee Wick. Her poetry blog has regularly been at work since 2012. But I only found it this year. A treasure of a find. Her words are heavy artillery rounds fired with the precision of a master sniper. In my opinion it took Bukowski a life time of boozing and brawling to pack this kind of punch. The themes of her work broadly reminds me of the recently rejuvenated Green Tea Diaries. […]

    Like

Say something

