High security section of Bauddhaloka Mawatha open to public


The tree lined stretch of Bauddhaloka Mawatha between thunmulla and Prof. Stanley Wijesundara Mawatha is now open to public traffic! During the war years this stretch of road was part of a barricaded high security zone. It is still where top tiers of the Sri Lankan defence establishment have their official residences. Its a thrill to cut down the travel time going through this leafy tunnel. The road is in delicious condition. I think most people are in a state of disbelief.

The stretch of road is lined with the bright green berets (or so I’m told) of Gamunu Watch sentries. I even sported a rocket propelled grenade (RPG) launcher set up in one of the sentry booth. Fairly light stuff if you’ve grown up knowing nothing but a country at war.

This road is not part of my regular commute so perhaps my “discovery” is old news. Still its a joy to drive down a section of road that was part of my life growing up in the nearby summit flats.

I suppose this is part of the gradual post war opening up of “closed” areas. I never realised that such a seemingly minor occurrence would have a personal impact on me. Enough to blog about it like a newbie on getting home. A nice start for 2011.

Have you had a similar experience of rediscovering a newly opened “high security zone” from your past? The comment box awaits.

7 comments

  1. They opened that road some time back and it was disappointing when they closed it again. It’s a thrill going down that road with all those trees and I certainly hope that they keep it open.

    A lot of the roads closed in Fort area are opening up, so you might want to take a spin that way.

    Like

  2. Happy New Year, Cerno!😀

    I know what you mean about roads opening up. St. Micheal’s Road opening up last year was particularly convenient for me, since my uni’s situated there. Hope they open up Perahera mawata (around Beira lake) and the road (extension of Duplication road) running behind Temple trees, though admittedly that’ll take perhaps a year or more.🙂

    Like

  3. Dulan: I think the Bauddhaloka Mawatha section only lets in cars and lighter vehicles. No “heavy” stuff like buses or trucks.

    Kiri: Belated Happy 2011 to you! Hope its another year of fun safe hiking!

    Chavie:
    Thank you🙂 I think its time to Google map these road openings!

    Like

Say something

