Most uplifting words I’ve heard about Sri Lankan politics so far


I’m not a optimist. I just secretly hope for the best while preparing for catastrophe. Somehow I managed to avoid the mire of fatalist pessimism despite getting a few stains from it.

This post on Yudhanjaya Wijeratne’s blog gives me a bit of hope.

On a different note, Maithripala Sirisena’s now-famous 100 Days manifesto seems to have instilled in everyone a much-needed sense of accountability. That makes me happy. One small step for a man, one giant leap for a nation. Let us not make kings out of those we elect to power.

Of course the cynical voices in my head are smashing furniture at this point. They are frothing at what they say is my “descent in to the cesspit of nativity”.

Perhaps I am. May be all of the above is too good to be true. The lead up to the election was an exhausting effort at trying to keep my cynicism at bay.

Does it matter?

Say something

