My Flickr photos are now public domain


I am not a photographer. Just another slob who takes the occasional photo. For centuries I have had a neglected Flickr account.  I used it to hold photos illustrating blog posts. Now I have decided to put the photos I’ve taken into the public domain. 

What that means, to quote the Creative Commons description is :

You can copy, modify, distribute and perform the work, even for commercial purposes, all without asking permission. 

This is my miserable offering to the internet from whose photos I  learnt so much. Not that excrement from my camera is of much value. Still that’s all I got to offer. 

Enjoy.

My Flickr URL is http://www.flickr.com/photos/cerno/

Independence Square Colombo Sri Lanka

On a practical note, many of these photos are low resolution. If you want anything higher contact me. I’ll dig around and see if I can find anything bigger. All for free.

13 thoughts on “My Flickr photos are now public domain

  1. Nice to see the now legendary ‘Casserole’ picture available in public domain.

    Those older images are really something special – may be the film itself or may be the effect of time on them. I have seen that type of red in family albums of pictures from the 80s.

    I appreciate your spirit in making them available on CC 1.0.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Pictures that capture life as it is being lived, like the lead image here, are always very useful. It’s got everything for me: sarongs, fruit, bicycles, a karate poster. It’s a whole short story right there.

        Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh come one. Don’t be such a cynic πŸ™‚ Anyway there’s still a better chance of them getting seen than if they were forgotten in a photo album.

        Like

    1. Thanks. Glad you like the idea. I found with a flat light it’s quite easy to digitise old film photos wi a phone camera. The tricky part is with gloss printed photos which create hotspots of reflected light.

      Like

      1. (Can’t reply to your reply – damn WP)

        I am an analogue person I’m afraid and it is unlikely I will reform.

        Old photographs can get lost, forgotten in the pages of a diary or a book, or an album stored away. But they can be found, faded and all the more interesting, and a memory recovered.

        What I find with digital is the sheer volume and their cheapness (free once you got the camera/phone and storage) makes them inconsequential. I have thousands of digital images I don’t look at, let alone sort, tidy up, and file a away under an appropriate folder.

        Unless I move these data around from hard drive to hard drive (and back them up, and back them up again because I’m paranoid) I can’t access them very easily. The threat of loss from technical failure might be reduced with solid state storage.

        If I store them on a dvd/cd-rom I need to boot something up &etc to access them. They are hardly the most tactile and aesthetically pleasing things to look at and handle. May be that’s a another reason why photo albums are popular – we are still emotionally tied up with books.

        Ultimately, it is about a record of our lives being at the mercy of time and nature (physical degradation of thee paper & the pigment, silver worms & mites), or time and technology and nature (obsolescence of the equipment, technical failure & magnetic waves!)

        All our important battles are battles with dust/or things turning to dust, isn’t it?

        One thing I noticed, both is SL and when I was in the UK, is that when ordinary people (that is not rich, not middle-class) are reported missing or killed, the newspaper articles carry a pixelated low quality cameraphone images of the person. This is more common when the person is very young.

        So the technology seems to be robbing the poorest of a decent representation of themselves. It’s awful and tragic.

        I didn’t want this to take a morbid turn, sorry.

        Like

      2. That’s a valid take on the issue πŸ™‚

        Btw sorry about the comments getting to the spam. No idea why WP does that. 😦

        Like

      3. You comment also made me think about how I look at digital photos. I realise that I look at old digital photos more often than analogue ones. Even going back years. I guess I’m different in that way πŸ™‚

        With Flickr etc I find it easier to manage and sort them. With extended family scattered on 3 continents, its the only practical way to share pics.

        I don’t rely much on CD ROM/DVDs as much. Just good old external hard drives for archiving. Cloud services for distributing and viewing.

        Thanks for the comment πŸ™‚ it kicked off a few interesting realisations.

        Like

Say something

