Sri Lankan blogosphere in 2008 – a glance in the rear view mirror


A year is a long time in the Sri Lankan blogosphere which essentially consists of kottu.org -Sri Lanka’s “main”/primary blog aggregator. At least one thing has stayed reliably constant: change.

The Sri Lankan blogosphere seems  to have lost its feel of a political battle ground. Replacing the enraged posts of 2007 is the quiet blandness of reposted AFP news feeds. On the positive side, there is a growing number of Sinhala language blogs. Interesting new “faces” have emerged. Kallusudda introduced his innovative comment blog. SN shock up the politics heavy quagmire of the SLB with her fresh take on an ancient art.  There have been quite a few passings such as the half doctor, R and the wonder dog

Thankfully there are enough stalwarts holding on. The drumming continues skilfully. The Sandwich is never missing or stale. Dominic keep up his poetry with light (rarely do photons gets used so well). Indi has mellowed yet still keep attracting an interesting commentary. The court jester — though an unfortunately sporadic poster — tends to always have something insightfully relevant to say. Vindi also fires up interesting observations amidst her studies at Hogwarts. Rajarata offer insights into defence matter. All take the time to drop by — something I have been shamefully lax at doing. Sadly, I feel very out of touch since I don’t get much time to visit other blogs lately. Most of my writing gets done off-line on a PDA. One sentence at a time during stolen moments. 

I think this “out of touchness” is reflected in my blog’s traffic sources. Until recently (which is as specific as I can get) the major referrer (or source) of hits used to be kottu.org. Now the dominant sources of traffic are wordpress.com tags, Google web searches and links from other blogs. Interestingly the most dominant consistent source has turned out to be the defence-Sri Lanka wordpress category. It also helps that there’s a regular crowd out there sifting through google to build their own radars. Developments that might be seen as a good things.

The drop in the traffic from Kottu.org makes me wonder if I’m being less relevant to Sri Lankan readers (as if the vomit of my dishevelled mind ever was). Yet virtually all the commentors on this blog are ” Sri Lankan” bloggers.

To end this ramble my clumsy survey needs more respondents to sort out. I hope you will contribute with a few mouse clicks.

19 thoughts on “Sri Lankan blogosphere in 2008 – a glance in the rear view mirror

  1. An interesting post Cerno. I’ve noticed the same trend but in smaller numbers I think. Kottu is still the biggest source of views for me but the %age is decreasing and more readers hit my blog directly, from google or subscriptions. I think it may be a sign of a blog developing, that it gets more links from others and what have you.

    Like

  2. RD: Thank you 😀 I was wondering something similar but wasn’t exactly too sure. wordpress.com stats don’t get very graniular..

    Vindi: Much appreciate it 🙂 Always heartening to know that I’m not howling inside my head 😀

    Like

  3. dude!! awesome blog..youve been there and done that! lol hats off to you..though i dnt get to comment that much..i certainly check out the posts..cheers! keep it goin!

    Like

  4. Thank you for the mention and yes I agree with RD. I still go to Kottu to find stuff but I go directly to RD,You and some other favorite bloggers of mine. Also when I am at these blogs, they have a blog rolls and I jump back and forth using those links.
    But I found another blogger, Rajaratarala, who is a farmer, that I read regularly.( Dream into Reality) He gives us a look into the lives of SL farmers and surroundings.

    Like

  5. i just wanted to say that when the war is “over” was one of my favorite posts too. i had never thought of that aspect of it at all.
    great posts Cerno. i really enjoy your blog.

    Like

  6. Wow many thank yous for all the comments 😀 And for excusing my “typo”s (“glass” instead of “glance” 😉 Shocking no?

    kalusudda: Thanks for that tip about Rajaratarala. I’ve read his blog a few times back via kottu but lately not much scurrying about. Even the post cound here has gone down. L( vut tu du no?

    T: Thank you 😀 Didn’t realise it was such a hit 🙂 Was just trying to get words out of my head..

    Jack My pleasure 🙂 Which survey were you referring to?

    Gypsy: 🙂 Happy you found it useful. Your blog btw, has pretty good writing on it. Seems you’ve been writing for quite a while before you started bloging. Keep it up 😀

    damiths:Thank you 🙂 Just be your self and write about something you like but with an angle nobody else is covering. And just keep it up and don’t worry about getting “shortlisted” or anything. I wasn’t expecting too 😉

    Like

  7. Cheers Cerno, well my passion is certainly cricket.

    But I cover it with an angle, a very weird one some like it, most dont lol. Do Drop by.

    Cheers buddy!

    Like

  8. New to the Sri Lankan Blogosphere, but I have to say yours was worth many a read. The post on when the war is over made me shudder. Its something that has been on my mind ever since the end of the war began to loom in the distance.

    Like

  9. Thanks Cerno. I’ve been writing for ages, just never had the balls to put it up on the internet! Lol. I’m glad I did though, it’s incredibly therapeutic.

    Like

  10. damiths: Good that you are passionate about a popular subject like cricket 🙂 I’m quite sure you’ll bag your audience.

    Delilah: Thank you. Happy to know that the writing connects 🙂

    Gypsy I think you got what it take to crank out some interesting stuff – specially on the internet. If its therapeutic than it will be even easier to keep it coming 😀

    Like

  11. There are so many blogs syndicated with Kottu , so naturally the traffic coming from Kottu will decrease.As long as the traffic grows I guess it doesn’t matter that much. Another reason could be that people are reading your blog from the reader , so they don’t have to visit the blog. I read from the reader and visits only to comment 🙂

    Like

  12. Nishadha: aha 🙂 the wise clarity of SEO wisdom 🙂 I think your analysis is right

    indi Wow thank you 😀 – Specially coming from someone whose been blogging for this long

    Like

Say something - you KNOW you want to

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.